The Baby Aisle

Last week I was in Publix (because I live in Publix and Target) and I had to get a couple of sympathy cards. In my Publix the greeting cards are on the right side of an aisle and all things baby are on the left.

Maybe it’s because my children are getting older (as noted yesterday my oldest turned 20 on Saturday – yikes!) but as I strolled down the aisle I couldn’t help but look at the baby food, all the little jars lined up so pretty and neat; the many brands and multiple sizes of diapers; and the array of Johnson & Johnson baby wash, baby powder and baby oil.

J&J Shampoo

I flipped open the top of that Johnson’s baby shampoo and breathed in a favorite scent from my past.  (I hope no one was watching me because they would probably think I was some crazy nut job who gets high off of baby shampoo.)  It’s funny how a scent can drive your memory back to a long forgotten place. J&J baby wash has a distinct smell – totally baby – and for just a minute I was young momma, baby in the front of my shopping basket. (And can I just say my babies were always protected by a sanitization process on that basket that would put an ebola health care worker to shame.)

It lasted only a minute, the taking in a deep breath of sweet baby smell and pretending to be 20 years younger. When I opened my eyes I was back to being the 47 year old momma of a sophomore in college and a 6 foot, 1 ¾ inch sophomore in high school. (Clearly, no tiny babies in my world anymore.)

And that’s how fast time has gone. In the blink of an eye I’ve gone from being the momma of babies to being the momma of a teenager and a young adult. I felt every word of this verse found in James 4:14 – Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes.”

Gosh that is so true… We think we have all this time and then before you know it your time here on earth is over. What have you done with all the time God has given you? Where have you spent your time and energy? To whom have you devoted your life to serving?

It’s never too late to regroup. It’s never too late to start over. It’s never to late to make a difference for the kingdom. But you have to do one thing – START NOW.  Don’t wait, for no one knows what will happen tomorrow!

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

2 thoughts on “The Baby Aisle

  1. I love reading your blog. I can so relate to what you’re going through. I just dropped off my youngest at college in August. Thanks for sharing what God is teaching you through all of this.

Leave a Reply

