A Long Way Home

A few years ago my father-in-law generously gave us a trip to San Francisco for spring break. That’s about as far away from Auburn, Alabama as you can get. And we had a great time – until we tried to get home.

The flight was long but uneventful. We arrived at the Atlanta airport around midnight with a two hour drive ahead of us. We knew all that ahead of time, but what we didn’t anticipate was Delta misplacing my husband’s golf clubs.

They might as well have misplaced one of our children.

‘Cause buddy we weren’t leaving that airport until those clubs were found. Who cares that we had been on an airplane for 5 hours, were now in a completely different time zone, starving from our lack of food on the flight (if the flight attendant offered me a bag of peanuts one more time…) and my daughter and I were so tired we were now laying on the floor of the airport using our suitcases as pillows???

sleep in airport

(I have since burned those clothes we were wearing that night.)

Nope, we were going to have those clubs in hand before we left that airport. And let’s just say this delay went on, and on, and on…

I felt like I was a million miles away from home. All I wanted to do was get to Auburn – a mere 2 hours away – but we had a major problem to deal with before we could leave the Atlanta airport.

That story is life in a nutshell. This earth isn’t our home, just like the Atlanta airport wasn’t my home (praise God). We are passing through on our way to eternity but the trip isn’t easy. Our trip here on earth is filled with problems and issues and things we have to work out before we get where we long to be.

“Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.” (2 Corinthians 4:16-18)

Even though I couldn’t see my bed in Auburn I knew I would eventually get there. I can’t see heaven, but know I will eventually get there too. Having that perspective helps keep me focused and more times than not the little things don’t bug me as much anymore (I said more times than not – I still have my moments).

Fix your mind, your heart, your eyes on the eternal.

And FYI, we left the airport without the golf clubs. Thankfully they were delivered the next day proving once again, prayer works! (;

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

One thought on “A Long Way Home

Leave a Reply

