Thanks, Mr. Rogers

It’s a beautiful day in the neighborhood…

I’ve written before about my inclination to get wrapped up in the 24/7 news cycle when a crisis is at hand. (Remember Snow-maggedon?) I’ll admit I’ve watched a little too much news on the TV and listened to a whole lotta too much talk radio, all discussing the current crisis of the day – Ebola.

And I agree, the spreading Ebola virus is cause for concern.

But yesterday, as I was driving home from lunch with my husband and all I could sing in my head was, “It’s a beautiful day in the neighborhood, a beautiful day for a neighbor…”

Sidebar: Thanks, Mr. Rogers for never ever allowing me to just speak those words in my head again. No, I must always sing them as I did everyday after elementary school when I watched Fred Rogers come in his fake front door, take off his blazer and dress shoes, and replace them with a cardigan sweater and sneakers. (They were definitely sneakers, not the crazy mixture of colors and textures you see on athletic shoes today.)

 mr-rogers

Because let’s face it – I have no ability to fix the Ebola problem. I’m not a scientist (I gagged when we had to dissect a cat in my high school biology class), I don’t work at the CDC (unless that stands for the Center for Dysfunctional Cat-Lovers), nor can I close all borders and prohibit infected people from entering this country (I can’t even keep “starving” teenagers out of my pantry).

And I’m not saying we need to be totally ignorant of what’s going on in the world, but if we are spending more time worrying than we are praying, we’ve got it all wrong.

And I agree that many people have dropped the proverbial protocol football along the way, but I’m choosing to spend my time praying for the infected nurses, the containment of the virus and God’s mercy on this country.

Pray more, worry less – especially about the things over which you have zero control. Enjoy the people, the outdoors, your job, your home, your neighborhood – whatever God has blessed you with today.

“Today is the day the Lord has made. Let us rejoice and be glad in it!” (Psalm 118:24)

‘Cause it’s a beautiful day in the neighborhood…

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

Leave a Reply

