Love and a HoneyBaked Ham

In honor of my 25th wedding anniversary today, I’d like to share the very funny, almost unbelievable way I met my husband.

There I was, a sophomore at Auburn University home for Christmas break. My roommate at the time had previously worked at HoneyBaked Ham and was planning on working there again over the break. She talked me into working with her to earn money – you know, the one thing college students never have. It was a no-brainer because all I had to do was hand over hams to hungry people. The ham store closed at 6:00 I think, so it would be an easy job and it wouldn’t interfere with my social life.

One day at work I was at my register, my roommate standing at her register to my left. A tiny, old, sweet grandmother shuffled up to the counter with her cane, looked up at me with the gentlest eyes from behind the largest, thickest glasses and asked with the straightest of faces:

“Do you have a 10 pound butt?”

For one crucial moment I forgot where I was (at work, selling hams), and my attempt to stifle my belly laugh fell way short, especially after my roommate said, “I don’t know – we’ve never weighed hers.”

Gee, thanks.

I’m not sure if it was that day or a maybe the next (memory is the first to go with age, you know) but there I was, again manning my register handing over all sizes of butts to hungry people waiting in line.

And then, just as if I were in a Lifetime movie, I turned around to see the freezer doors open, the wooosh of the frozen condensation spilling out of the freezer. And in that moment, my future husband walked right out of that freezer and into my heart. I couldn’t move. I could only stare at him. He was truly the best looking guy I had ever seen.

When I finally floated back down to earth, I looked at my roommate and said, “I’m going to get a date with that guy.” She snarked back, “Yeah right.”

Turns out my mother-in-law had talked the manager into hiring her two children who were in college to work  there on Christmas break – that’s how Todd ended up walking out of the freezer that day.  You can guess the rest of the story because here we are, 25 years later. Still married, and yep we still like each other – a lot.

My story just goes to show you never know what God has planned for you. I would never have guessed God would use the HoneyBaked Ham freezer to bring love into my life. It’s a real life example of this Scripture: “’For my thoughts are not your thoughts,
neither are your ways my ways,’
declares the Lord.As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways
and my thoughts than your thoughts.’” (Isaiah 55:8-9) It also proves Jeremiah 29:11 – “’For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.’”

Everything we do has an opportunity associated with it. That opportunity may not be as big as meeting your future spouse, but if we go through life grumbling and complaining instead of looking for the blessings, we’ll miss the wonderful life God has planned for us.

So here’s to the HoneyBaked Ham located in Vestavia Hills, Alabama, distributor of delicious spiral sliced hams with a yummy glaze on the outside, and a freezer full of love on the inside

honeybaked

Happy Anniversary, Todd. I truly love you more today than I did when I walked down that aisle 25 years ago.

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

One thought on “Love and a HoneyBaked Ham

Leave a Reply

