So Out of Shape

Yesterday was my 25th wedding anniversary. Now some people might lollygag around in the morning, lay in the bed and drink an extra cup of coffee and watch some meaningless show on HGTV to start that day.

Not me.

Nope, for some unknown reason I decided I would join a few friends at an exercise class that started at 8:30. Actually, I know the reason. I’m out of shape. Seriously out of shape.

Yes, I play tennis. But if you watched me play, you’d know my tennis moves aren’t exactly whipping me into rock solid shape.

So I figured yesterday was as good as any to start. I started tennis at age 40, and so I thought I’d start exercising again on my 25th wedding anniversary.

The start of the class featured a 5 lap run around the parking lot. Did I mention I don’t run – ever – unless, as Rick Burgess says, something is chasing me?

That was followed by a series of leg lifts, bench presses, planks and pushups. Did I mention my nickname given to me by my husband is noodle arms?

Barbell_Group_Fitness_Class

But I survived. And I’ll say Stanley the fitness coach motivates and pushes you in a positive way. One of my favorite quotes from him was, “You can’t outwork a bad diet.”  (Just stab me in the heart, why don’t you.)  And when I left I thought it was tough, but not as bad as I had built it up in my head. In fact, I went so far as to think maybe I’m not in as bad of shape as I thought.  I even texted those exact words to my husband, who comes home from Stanley’s afternoon classes dripping with sweat and took an ice bath after one session.

Yeah I was feeling pretty spry – until lunch.  I was meeting 2 friends to celebrate a birthday and one of the friends had gone through the class with me that morning.  This friend has been attending Stanley’s class for some time, so she knows his routines.  When we started talking about the class she said, “I don’t know what was up with Stanley today. That was the easiest class we’ve ever had.”

Wah, wah, waaaaahhhhhhh…..

Well that was a little disappointing for sure. That’s certainly not the first time I’ve gotten a little puffed up in the head (or the noodle arms) and thought I was a better than I was. Nothing like a eating a big ‘ol piece of humble pie filled with vain calories to bring me back down to where I belong.

“For whoever exalts himself will be humbled, and whoever humbles himself will be exalted.” (Matthew 23:12)

Oh how true that is, whether it’s in an exercise class, a job or your walk with Jesus.  It’s so easy to think, “Yeah, I’ve got this,”  when in fact we should be saying, “Yeah, I got this, all because of you Jesus.”  I’ll be more careful not to lift myself up to a place I don’t belong, for that’s a place which is all about me and not about Jesus.

And I’m afraid, from what I hear, I won’t be able to lift myself out of the bed after Stanley gets ahold of us on Thursday…

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

Leave a Reply

