A Little Less Laundry

My son is playing varsity basketball this year. And for those of you who don’t have a child who plays basketball, let me try to explain how much laundry I do during basketball season.

laundry1

Basketball season is 4 months long and it’s loaded every week with 2 or 3 games and practices in between. So every single night from now through February I’ll have some nasty, sweaty, smelly uniform to wash. Stinky. Wet from sweat. Gross uniforms. But I’m up to the task – this ain’t my first basketball rodeo. I was all prepared with gallons of detergent and enough Downy Unstopables to de-funk the smelliest of uniforms, ready to tackle the nightly routine of washing whatever uniform was worn that day. (What are Downy Unstopables you ask? Go buy a bottle and sprinkle them in your laundry for the longest lasting, best smelling laundry ever. You’re welcome.)

Hold up there a minute, laundry momma.

We have a new coach this year so I decided I would go to the parents’ meeting last night. (I usually leave that to my husband, but since I keep the color coded calendar and we have a new coach I thought I’d go with him this year to make sure I’m in the know.) Coach went over the normal topics – schedule, out of town tournaments, fundraising, etc. And then he said these magical words, words that every basketball momma longs to hear but can’t let herself believe she would actually ever hear them:

“After every game I take home all the uniforms, wash them
and bring them back clean to the boys for the next game.”

Do WHAAAATTT???

The mommas in the room gave him a round of applause. What coach in his right mind does that? Does he know what he’s saying? Is this a prank? Is he being blackmailed by a rogue varsity basketball momma? 

We often don’t realize what the smallest gesture means to someone else. A smile to a woman checking you out at Target could make her day because she is working 2 jobs to make ends meet. Reaching the top shelf in the grocery store and getting a jar of pickles down for an older man could make a difference because maybe he lost his wife of 50 years not too long ago. Texting a Bible verse to your child could brighten their day because today they’ve been picked on at school or maybe they didn’t do well on a test.

“A cheerful look brings joy to the heart, and good news gives health to the bones.” (Proverbs 15:30)

Sometimes we think we have to do some grand gesture when a cheerful look may be all we need to do to help someone feel better.

But hey, I’m all about our new coach doing some of my laundry for the next 4 months!

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

Leave a Reply

