Long Time Coming

I got a job!

And it’s been a long time coming. I sold my portion of a business in 2012 so that I could stay at home and enjoy my daughter’s senior year in high school. I always knew I’d go back to work one day – I just didn’t know exactly when or how.

That’s where prayer comes in. Once we moved my daughter to college I started praying for a job. And not just any job – I had very specific qualifications attached to my request. I figured if I’m going to ask for something, I might as well be detailed as to what I need. Go big or go home, as the saying goes.

And not only did Jesus answer my prayer for a job with a yes, but as a friend of mine says, “Jesus knocked my socks off” last week by giving me a wonderful opportunity with every detail from my prayer request granted.

So what have I learned over the last year?

Be patient. Don’t miss the part of this story where I’ve been praying for a year for a job. I didn’t ask for a job on a Tuesday have one by Wednesday. I’ve been seeking an answer for over a year. I have other requests in my journal that I’ve been praying over for a lot longer than a year, and I’m patiently awaiting His answers.

Listen to the Holy Spirit. I had a few other opportunities come my way this past year, but each time a little voice in my head (that would be the Holy Spirit) said, “No, this isn’t it. Keep praying, keep waiting.” If I had ignored that voice and chosen an earlier opportunity I would have missed what God had planned for me.

All prayers are not answered with a yes. Several times over the last year I would ask God if I was supposed to take a job and the answer was no. And I’ll admit it was a little frustrating because I couldn’t see the better plan God had for me. My prayer journal is a conglomeration of prayers that were answered with a yes, prayers that were answered with a no, and many that I’m still praying over. Some of the ones answered with a no make sense to me know and some don’t. It’s not my role to figure out why Jesus says no sometimes – it’s my job to trust that He has His very best for me no matter what the situation.

Be persistent. If you are busy and your child comes up to you with a quiet, “Mom,” you don’t always focus on him at that time. But when he comes running to you screaming over and over, “MOM! MOM! MMMMOOOOMMMM!” you give him your full attention to see what he needs. You don’t have to yell at God, but being persistent demonstrates your commitment to the request and your desire to receive an answer.

Yes, I know people are praying for bigger issues today. Loved ones are sick or dying. Children have left the faith and leading lifestyles that do not glorify Jesus. But no matter what the request is, make them known to Jesus, be persistent, wait on an answer and be patient until your answer comes.  A great example in the Bible of a man who prayed persistently is Elijah when he prayed for rain:

So Ahab went off to eat and drink, but Elijah climbed to the top of Carmel, bent down to the ground and put his face between his knees. “Go and look toward the sea,” he told his servant. And he went up and looked. “There is nothing there,” he said. Seven times Elijah said, “Go back.” The seventh time the servant reported, “A cloud as small as a man’s hand is rising from the sea…” Meanwhile, the sky grew black with clouds, the wind rose, a heavy rain started falling and Ahab rode off to Jezreel. The power of the Lord came on Elijah and, tucking his cloak into his belt, he ran ahead of Ahab all the way to Jezreel.”  (1 Kings 18:42-46)

Jesus He is Lord over every prayer request and every answer – every yes, no and wait and see. When Jesus answers your request with a yes, give Him all the praise and honor and glory you can. When He tells you to wait and see, praise Him for having your best interest at heart. And when Jesus answers with a no, do both because those are the days your faith will be strengthened.

prayer-on-my-knees4

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

One thought on “Long Time Coming

Leave a Reply

