Zombies? Seriously?

Today is election day. You probably had no idea, right? Only if you’re living under a rock could you not know what today is because good gosh ahmighty the political ads are running more often than the obnoxious E.D. commercials, and that’s saying something. If I believed everything I heard on these ads I’d think this country was headed to hell in a handbasket (wait – that really is what’s happening…).

For goodness sake. For the most part we are inundated with ads from the “accusers.” They throw out all sorts of facts and statistics about their opponent, some true but many taken out of context. In my state one candidate would have you believe the other one is raping 5 women every day all on his own. And in the state next to me you have someone accusing the other of funding a well-known terrorist group. And my favorite? The most recent ad portraying zombies as the underlings of a certain candidate. Zombies? REALLY???

I am so annoyed by it all.

If we are wondering why our government is in the state it is, look no further than these ads. Why would anyone in their right mind even get into politics? Why subject yourself to the scrutiny, the lies, the attacks? I believe a few candidates really want to serve the people. But sadly, I feel that most run for political office not for what they can do for their constituents, but for the perks and the power that comes with the office.

And I know I’m not alone in my thinking, not that it would matter.

Sadly this country has become so divided that we cannot possibly admit the other side might just have a good idea or be right. There’s a total lack of compromise – it’s either my way or you’re wrong. Whoever has the majority has the power, and with power comes the ability to unite or divide.

Our nation needs serious healing. My prayer today (and pretty much every day) is 2 Chronicles 7:14:

“If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and I will forgive their sin and will heal their land.”

As you go to vote today, pray for all the people who will be elected to office and those who won’t. And pray for God’s protection and mercy on this country, ‘cause heaven knows we need it.

Voting booth

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

Leave a Reply

