Sign, Sign, Everywhere a Sign

Part of my football Saturday routine is to leisurely wake up around 7:30 (only people over 40 think that time is leisurely), have my quiet time (Jesus is available on Saturdays too, ya’ know) and turn on ESPN’s College GameDay show.

This year I’ve been waiting and turning it on around 8:02 because my ears started bleeding the first time I heard the new chic who screams – I mean sings – with Big & Rich.

But I digress.

For the most part I love the GameDay signs. College football fans have proven themselves to be very funny and creative. Any sign referring to someone wearing “jorts” just makes me laugh. This one was my favorite last week:

 mark may

 It makes no sense. That’s why it’s funny to me.

But of course you have the people who are out there to ruin good fun for everyone else. This week I was a little disturbed at how many times the word “suck” could be used in signage. That word has become an accepted word in our culture, people saying it without thinking about the intended meaning behind the word. Some Michigan State fans wanted to make sure we got the meaning with a sign that was so vulgar I was truly shocked ESPN didn’t make the sign owners get rid of it. I won’t show it here – you can look it up if you really want to see it but trust me you don’t.

And then there was this sign:

  sign

If you think that was bad you should have seen the other side which read, “Urban Meyer stole Tim Tebow’s virginity.”

Yep, I’m on my southern momma rant about these signs. ESPN’s College GameDay show attracts fans of all ages, from young boys who hope to one day play the game in college to young men and women in college to parents, grandparents – you get the point. I’m mad about these signs for 2 reasons: 1) the people who made them couldn’t care less that they are spreading their vulgarity across all of America to people who just want to hear the latest predictions and enjoy just one G rated show in their day and 2) ESPN executives show no concern for the appropriateness of the signs that are seen by viewers of all ages.

You can call me overprotective, but for the love of all that is good and kind it would be nice for my 15 year old son to be able to watch a show that airs at 8:00 a.m. and not have to process sexual images and words while making his football picks for the day. And I know – If I don’t like it, I can just turn it off. And if this inability to squash the signs that are blatantly spewing sexual innuendos continues I will do just that.

“The Lord detests the thoughts of the wicked, but those of the pure are pleasing to him.” (Proverbs 15:26)

I’m praying the ESPN crew will raise the standards for their signs so that fans of all ages can watch, laugh and enjoy their show without mommas and daddies having to scramble for their remote controls…

And just because I’m an SEC fan…

 urban mayer sign

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

Leave a Reply

