He Should Be Fired

It’s Monday after a Saturday of college football, so you know what that means.

A football rant.

So sorry if you’re not a football fan, but 1)football is just awesome and 2)football provides a plethora of life lessons week in and week out.

Saturday night my team did not play well – at all. And as I scrolled through my Twitter feed and FaceBook posts, I read several comments from “experts” demanding the firing of our defensive coordinator. Again, Auburn isn’t unique to these comments – just throw out a search on Will Muschamp and see what you get.

NscZpslJ_400x400

I used to be one of those people who were smarter than the coaches. I would yell or post a “He should be fired” comment freely and often when I thought it was warranted. And while I do believe people who underperform should have to answer to their boss for their performance, I’ve stopped the demand for someone to be fired.

Why? Because 7 years or so ago I became friends with a coach’s wife. A high-level football coach’s wife. She helped me to see that a coach is an actual person with an actual family. I was ashamed I had never really looked at them as people but as pawns in a high stakes game of ultimate importance in the lives of so many fans.

She helped me to see that every time a coach is fired, he must face the public embarrassment that he failed at his job. He has to go home, face his family with the news. He has a wife who has friends, children who are ingrained in schools and activities. They will most likely be uprooted and moved to a new town where they will already have a reputation before people even know them and have to start over, only to face the scrutiny of a crazed fan base all over again.

Do coaches know all the possible pitfalls when they take the job? Sure they do. Do they make lots of money? Some do. Do they receive perks along the way? If they perform, yes. But do you really think knowledge and a check take away the feelings of failure and loss? I’m sure those help, but even then a fired coach will have some issues to work through. Wouldn’t you?

And one more thing – as you scream at the top of your lungs or post on social media how a coach should be fired, just imagine him doing the same thing in your office in front of your boss and coworkers. Not the same thing? Oh, but it is.

“Do not judge, or you too will be judged. For in the same way you judge others, you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will be measured to you. Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye?” (Matthew 7:1-3)

So how about we encourage and support our coaches instead of tearing them down?

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

Leave a Reply

