My PSA for Today

Here’s my PSA for today:

Wear your dang seatbelt, people!

I am a seatbelt FREAK – just ask my children.  It all stems from the death of a close friend years ago.  My friend Mary Margaret unbuckled her seatbelt to change the movie in the car for her twins on the way home from the beach.  A tractor trailer had gotten stuck under a bridge that was being constructed.  Her husband swerved to miss the truck but it was too late.  A horrendous accident followed, her husband and twins surviving, Mary Margaret perishing.

So ever since then I’ve been a crazy momma about seat belts.  Oh, no no no we won’t be “double buckling” in my car.  If I was taking a bunch of kids somewhere my car stayed in the “P” position until every child had strapped themselves in with a seatbelt.  And yes, my children were confined to a booster seat WAY past any of their friends. (Yes, I know it’s extremely embarrassing to hop into a booster seat at age 10.  I didn’t care.)

And for months now I’ve read or heard about some serious, serious injuries and what’s worse – several deaths – because people were not wearing their seat belts.  I really don’t understand what the deal is with this. Is it uncool? Confining? Restricting? Do people forget?  I don’t get it.

Over the summer a father told me the story of his daughter who was hit head on while sitting still at a stop light. Some drunk nut going 60 mph in a 45 zone plowed into the front of her car. She and her friend were wearing their seatbelts and were injured but out of the hospital. The friend’s mother in the backseat wasn’t wearing hers and was in critical condition in the hospital.

And perhaps the most well-known story recently publicized is that of former Auburn football player Philip Lutzenkirchen who was ejected from a car and killed after he was in an accident without wearing a seatbelt. ESPN told the story through his father’s words, and you can watch it here if you missed it or want to see it again:

 Live Like Lutz

Lutzie
Image courtesy of the Auburn Plainsman

Wearing a seatbelt isn’t supposed to be burdensome or a problem for us. Seatbelts are designed for our protection.

So why don’t we follow the guidance found in the Bible? God’s teachings are not burdensome or a problem – they are designed to protect us from the “glory” the world offers but never provides.

“By this we know that we love the children of God, when we love God and obey his commandments. For this is the love of God, that we keep his commandments. And his commandments are not burdensome. For everyone who has been born of God overcomes the world. And this is the victory that has overcome the world—our faith.” (1 John 5:2-4)

KNOW God’s word so that you can be PROTECTED by God’s word.

And PLEASE wear you seatbelts!

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

Leave a Reply

