Ready, Set, GO!!!

I don’t want to make anyone out there panic, but TODAY IS DECEMBER 1st, Y’ALL!!!

And so the craziness of the Christmas season begins. It actually began last Thursday (see my previous rant about Thanksgiving) with people in my city lining up at 7:00 a.m. to be one the first in lines to take advantage of the Black Friday sales. (So if it starts the day before does that make it grey Thursday or more likely I-don’t-want-to-spend-a-single-day-with-my-relatives Thursday?)

Anyway, you’ve got 24 days to get a tree, decorate the inside of your home, put lights out on all the shrubbery, buy gifts for the multitudes, wrap those gifts, shop for Christmas dinner, work, go to basketball games – oh wait, that’s just my to-do list.

All of us have a lot to do to pull off a fantastic December 25th. But in the middle of the chaos, I am trying to remember a few things to keep me just slightly on the normal side of crazy:

  • I will continue to spend time with Jesus everyday to keep myself focused on what is truly important in this season – and all year long.
  • I will make someone else’s day every single day. Whether it be a small gesture like unhooking the tangled, mangled shopping carts at Sam’s for an elderly customer or buying the person’s groceries in line behind me, I have the chance to be a light every single day.
  • I will continue to honor traditions our family has established, no matter how old my children are. So that means I put together the Playmobil advent calendar so they can fight over who gets to open each day’s box. I’ll set up the Snow Village buildings and wrangle the cords into a scene Rodgers & Hammerstein would be proud of.

IMG_3050

  • I will be generous with my time and my money this holiday season. People are hurting in America. There’s no shortage of needs. And I have been blessed to be able to help make someone’s Christmas better.
  • I will thank Jesus every day for the blessings and the trials in my life. I can learn from them both.

I encourage you to make your own to-do list that will have a lasting impact this holiday season. If you feel led, please share what’s on your list so others can read and get some great ideas!

“I was young and now I am old, yet I have never seen the righteous forsaken or their children begging bread. They are always generous and lend freely; their children will be blessed.” (Psalm 37:25-26)

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

