My Outside is PERFECT!

So yes, the outside of my house is decorated – finally. No more Kranks on our street. And even though I was still working on some of the inside decorations, from the outside we looked like we had our Christmas swag in full swing from the den all the way to the mailbox. My friend said she would rather get her outside decorated first so that it looks like she has it all together even when the inside of her house is a total wreck.

“There’s your next blog post,” she panted to me as we were running in the parking lot last week. (Yes, I was actually running. It’s amazing what the right motivation will do for a person who hates to run.)

I started thinking about that yesterday as I finally tackled the box of Snow Village buildings. It’s not like I have enough pieces to make up a city the size of Atlanta – I only have 7 buildings and about 20 miscellaneous pieces that make up more what I would call a country town.  It’s just a pain to take all the buildings out of their protective Styrofoam containers, place them under the tree, put the lights in, get the smaller pieces out of their containers, place them where it looks natural (y’all know I’m OCD so I can’t have the tree house stuck between the McDonald’s and the Coca-Cola plant or the Starbucks near the dairy barn).

And the worst part is hooking up all the cords that lead to each perfectly snow-covered building so that each one comes alive with light. When you look under the upstairs Christmas tree it is a beautiful scene of perfection. But underneath the mountains of fake snow is a mess of cords attached in such a way that I’m sure the fire marshal would write me a serious citation.

 Snow Village

But who cares if I burn the house down, right? As long as it looks good.

And that’s how we go about life. We look in the mirror and think, “That’s the look I’m going with for the day,” (although many days I’m in such a hurry I look in the mirror and think, “Well that’s gonna have to do”) and don’t take time to look underneath the hair, the makeup, the clothes. Do we have perfection on the outside and a mess on the inside?

“For the Lord does not see as man sees; for man looks at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.” (1 Samuel 16:7)

We all need to take time to untangle our cords. You can start by spending time with Jesus, asking Him to show you which cords are a mess, and which one you should work on first. Or you may already know what your issues are, you just don’t know how to get going. Just remember you don’t have to take on the wad of cords all at once – if you’ve ever untangled Christmas lights you know you have to start with one strand, get it all untangled, and then start on the next one. The important thing is to take the first step and get started!

Tomorrow I’ll share what has really helped me the most in this area. Until then, have a blessed day!

Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

Leave a Reply

