A Momma Moment of Panic

My son plays high school basketball, so most of my weeknights are spent in various gyms situated all along the I-65 and I-85 interstates. Last Thursday night we were in a gym in Autauga County, Alabama for a game (you’ll have to googlemap that if you care to know where  we were), ready to take on the Generals.

basketball

It was a very close game, hard fought on both sides. Now my son is tall – 6’3” so part of his job on the court is to rebound and block shots (duh). At some point in the third period a player on the other team faked his shot, my son went up to block it, THEN the player moved to shoot the ball and cut my son’s legs out from under him when that player made his move to the basket.

The “THUD” heard when my son hit the floor was VERY VERY LOUD. So loud that the whole gym hushed to that deathly still silence, not sure how bad the injury would be. When he hit the floor I shot up off those extremely hard and uncomfortable wooden bleachers like a Jack in the Box, panic setting into my heart. I watched him lay face down on the floor and then start to roll around a little as the trainers ran out to determine which body part was injured.

My friend sitting next to me and I both thought the same thing, that the deafening THUD we heard was my son’s head hitting the hardwood floor somewhere on a county road in Autauga. My friend very sweetly rubbed my back as my mind started racing, my thoughts sounding something like, “Oh my gosh, Lord no. He’s hit is head. Does he have a concussion? Where are we in Autauga county? Are we going to need an ambulance? How come we have ambulances at football games but not basketball games? Do I run down there and check on him or stay in the stands? What happened?”

Two minutes of momma panic felt a whole lot longer

And then by the grace of God my son sat up a bit and walked off the court. Turns out the large THUD we heard was his elbow, not his head. (Thank you Jesus!) His elbow is swollen and according to him is a 5 on his pain scale, so I think he’s just gonna need a little time to heal.

My plan was to go to Autauga, woop up on some Generals and go home. My plan did not include a freak accident, a concussion or an ambulance ride to a county hospital. And thankfully that’s not what happened, but here’s what I know: life doesn’t go the way we plan every day. Accidents happen. Illnesses happen. Financial difficulties happen. Unforeseen situations can happen at any time, and when they do, what do you do?

I would think most people would have their own “Momma moment of panic” first – it’s human nature because you have to take a minute to process what has happened, what the initial issue is and your role in the situation. But after your brain pushes through those initial thoughts, prayer is paramount to your dealing with whatever is coming next.

“Is anyone among you in trouble? Let them pray. Is anyone happy? Let them sing songs of praise. Is anyone among you sick? Let them call the elders of the church to pray over them and anoint them with oil in the name of the Lord. And the prayer offered in faith will make the sick person well; the Lord will raise them up. If they have sinned, they will be forgiven. Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective.” (James 5:13-16)

Combat your own Momma moment of panic with prayer. Jesus is always with you, even in a high school gymnasium somewhere in Autauga County, Alabama.

Blessings!
Leigh

Leave a Reply

