I Hate to Run

I am not an athlete. I did not play high school sports of any kind. I’ve never been the one to say, “Hey! Anybody want to go lift some weights or do a few hundred crunches with me?” And I hate to run. My feelings on running are about the same as the Grinch’s feelings about all the Whos in Whoville – “Hate, hate hate – double hate, LOATHE ENTIRELY…” And as Rick Burgess says, “If you see me running you better take off too because it can only mean something big and scary is chasing me.”

But seeing how I’m not getting any younger, I decided to join a couple of my friends at a work out class that had recently been started by a new trainer at our club. And to my shock and horror, how do you think they start every single stinkin’ class???

Running.

running

Now I don’t want anyone to think we start off with a 5K every day or anything like that, but 4 laps around the parking lot to a girl who hates to run sure does feel like a marathon. And the first few classes I dug my heels in and proclaimed I would run maybe one lap and walk the rest. Ain’t nobody gonna make this girl run laps. I had enough of that in high school.

(Oh my gosh I dreaded the days in middle and high school P.E. class when our coach would come in and yell, “Everybody to the track!” I would have rather had an extra week of awkward, geeky middle-school style square dancing instruction than to have to run a mile on the track.)

ANYWAY, it wasn’t long before our trainer Stanley started pushing me to run. “You can do it, Mrs. Leigh. See Mrs. Anne up there? Let’s catch her. Don’t you give up. You’re an athlete. Pump your arms. Breathe. Now pick up that pace. Here comes Mrs. Beth – don’t you let her beat you.”

It only took a couple of times for Stanley to run with me and motivate me to get me to the place where I was doing something I didn’t want to do and quite frankly didn’t think I could do. And these days when I go to class I don’t wear an “I love to run” t-shirt or anything, but I run my laps with the group without grumbling, knowing full well I can handle it. And now when I am running I don’t hear my thoughts because they are negative. I hear Stanley in my head, encouraging me and pushing me to do more.

And you know, that’s really where we want to be spiritually. If all we hear are our own thoughts in our head, it won’t be long before we are jealous (Why don’t I have as big of a house as they do?), angry (I cannot believe she just said that to me – well I’ll show her!), depressed (Nobody likes me. I’m worthless.), etc., etc…

What we need is a big dose of Jesus in our heads every single day. Jesus loves you, He wants the best for you and He will push you out of your comfort zone to do things you can’t even imagine if you will let Him. But the first step is to get to know Him on a daily basis so that you can hear His voice inside your head.

“The LORD is my strength and my song; he has become my salvation.  Shouts of joy and victory resound in the tents (the minds) of the righteous: ‘The LORD’s right hand has done mighty things!  The LORD’s right hand is lifted high; the LORD’s right hand has done mighty things!’” (Psalm 118:14-16)

Jesus can do mighty things in us when He is our strength and our song. So take some time to fill your head with the truth of God’s Word, and run the race He has set out for you today!

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

Leave a Reply

