Take Me Home

Last weekend was quite the weekend of car travel for my husband and me. We left Auburn on Friday afternoon and drove 3 hours to Tuscaloosa to watch my son play basketball. Spent the night there, got up the next morning and drove an hour to Birmingham to pick him up and take him to Alabaster to play. Sent him home with a friend’s family, got in the car do drive 3 hours to Oxford, Mississippi to see our daughter who just returned home safely from a mission trip in Oxford. Spent 2 nights there, drove 3 hours back to Birmingham for a meeting Monday morning then 2 hours to Auburn. Oh and then we got back in the car 2 hours later and drove 45 minutes to Columbus, Georgia and back for more basketball.

915 miles in 4 days. The Tahoe is tired.

Then we got to laughing recounting all the restaurants we went to over 4 days: Jason’s Deli, Another Broken Egg, Newk’s, Chick-Fil-A, McEwen’s, some steak house I can’t even remember the name of, McDonald’s, Jason’s Deli (again) and Chick-Fil-A (we’ll tear up some Chick-Fil-A during basketball season – just sayin’).

 CFA

And hey, no rest for the weary – Tuesday was jammed pack of serving at church, working, meetings and more basketball. When I got home last night I was seriously over being in a car – I just wanted to be home.

And days come – hard, difficult days – when we long to be in our heavenly home. Maybe your father has passed away. Or your child is suffering with cancer. It could be that you have no job and don’t know how you are going to pay the mortgage or feed your family next month. Some days life is so hard, so painful, so difficult that we pray for Jesus to come back to earth, and let it be TODAY.

On those days we need a reminder that this earth is only a brief stop in the life of our spirits, for our true home is in heaven with Jesus. Somewhere in the middle of our travels over the weekend I knew I would eventually make it home to Auburn. And our road here on earth can be long and hard at times, but we all have a road to travel to get home to Jesus one day.

If you are struggling today, take comfort in these words found in the book of John: “Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God, trust also in me. In m Father’s house are many rooms, if it were not so, I would have told you. I am going there to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I go. You know the way to the place where I am going.” (John 14:1-4)

I knew how to get to my home in Auburn – it just felt like I was never going to make it there. And we know how to get home to heaven, no matter how bumpy and treacherous the road on earth may be. And you know what the great thing about the journey is? Not only are we traveling TO Jesus we are traveling WITH Jesus. We are never alone on our journey – never.

So let our hearts not be troubled, but let us be filled with the knowledge and the peace and the faith that we will one day make it home – to our true home in heaven with Jesus.

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

Leave a Reply

