The Positive… And The Positive

We hear statements such as, “There’s a positive and a negative to this situation,” or “There’s an upside and a downside.” People often ask the question, “Do you want the good news or the bad news first?” when getting ready to give someone news they just don’t want to deliver.

What if we refused to go there? And by there, I mean the negative.

What if every situation, every incident, every moment was viewed in the positive?

I started thinking about that last night before I fell asleep. Specifically, I was rehashing the Lee-Scott/Glenwood boys’ basketball game in my head, lamenting over the fact that we lost to Glenwood – again.

I know in the sports world a loss is a negative. No one wins a championship by having more losses than wins. Got it. But last night laying in my bed I realized the more I focused on the missed shots, the inability to stop that team from scoring and the loss itself all I was doing was giving the enemy a foothold into my thoughts, into my world.

And that ain’t gonna cut it, because satan doesn’t need any help.

So I started thinking about all the positives I saw last night:

Our team never quit. Not when we were down by 16, not when we were down by 5, not at the very end when it was obvious we were running out of time. Our boys never stopped giving every ounce of physical strength they had in them.

Our student section was full and they screamed and yelled the entire game, supporting their friends on the court.

Our boys are learning an important lesson on how to lose. They are learning how to lose with dignity, how to persevere through adversity and how to fight for themselves and their team. Most importantly, they are learning their identities are in Jesus, not in what they do on a basketball court.

Oh and for me personally – only because I’ve been in constant prayer for 2 solid days about this – I remained calm and fairly quiet last night. I promise – you can ask my friend sitting next to me. Nothing like Tuesday night’s performance on my part, for sure. The refs and policemen didn’t look my way at all – not even once!

So I refuse to focus on the loss today. Rather, I’m going to recognize all the good that came from a night such as that and thank God for all the lessons we are learning and blessings He is providing, because the positive is always available – we just have to train ourselves to jump on that side of the fence.

The ultimate story of snatching victory out of the jaws of defeat is Jesus’ victory over death when He was crucified, buried and then rose from the grave. If people ever experienced a time in history to be negative, it would be when the disciples watched Jesus be beaten, tortured and crucified on the cross. Can you even imagine the defeated, fearful thoughts running through their minds?

cross

Only 3 days after what seemed to be the worst most negative day ever, Jesus proved that good things – positive things – can come from any situation if you believe in Him and trust in God’s plan for your life.

“When he (Jesus) had led them (the disciples) out to the vicinity of Bethany, he lifted up his hands and blessed them. While he was blessing them, he left them and was taken into heaven. Then they worshiped him and returned to Jerusalem with great joy. And they stayed continually at the temple, praising God.” (Luke 24:50-53)

Let’s look around our world today with great joy. Let’s spend our time continually praising God. Let’s snatch victory from defeat.

Let’s look for and find both the positive… and the positive.

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

Leave a Reply

