All That Extra Time

6:00 a.m. – WAKE UP!!!
6:10 – Stumble into the kitchen looking for coffee.
6:11 – Coffee (Thank you, Keurig).
6:15 – 6:45 – Quiet time.
6:45 – 7:15 – Quick shower & attempt at some amount of make-up (didn’t want to scare the general public today).
7:30 – Pick my sister up for work. No, we don’t work together. The fuel pump went out in her car yesterday, so I’m taking her to work while they fix her car.
7:50 – Arrive at Kroger.   Yes, I was at Kroger before 8:00 a.m. You know why? Because 1)It’s quiet in Kroger at 7:50 a.m. and 2)If I didn’t go then, we’d still have “no food” (at least that’s what my son says) in the house because the rest of my day was going to be a doozie.
8:50 – Unpack and put up groceries. Yes, I spent an hour in Kroger because 1)I agreed with my son we had “no food” and so I had a double cart full of fruits, vegetables, Oreos, peanut butter & chocolate Pop-Tarts, etc., and 2) I coupon. (Let me go ahead and apologize to the man who strolled up behind me in the checkout line with only 5 items. If the cashier hadn’t already scanned my Kroger frequent-buyer-track-all-my-spending-so-I-can-save-50-cents-on-a box-of-Hot-Pockets card I would have let you check out ahead of me.)
9:15 – Inhale breakfast.
9:30 – Head to church.
11:00 – Leave church, run through post office and office supply store.
11:45 – Home for lunch with my husband.

As I was reheating chili for lunch (fixing a sandwich from scratch just seemed to complicated for me today) I had a flashback to 9 years ago in the same kitchen, setting the table for my husband and me for lunch.

It was one of the first days of school in 2005. My daughter was a big girl in the 5th grade (as if). My son had just started first grade. It was one of the first days he went to school all day, graduating from half-day kindergarten to full-day elementary school. My husband came home for lunch that day and said, “So whatcha gonna do with all this extra time?”

Uuuuhhhhhh….

Most moms would jump for joy, clap their hands and shriek in ecstasy over the extra time they just received, as if those 2 ½ hours were a long awaited, finally opened gift promised back when you brought your little bundle of joy home from the hospital. (“If you can survive 5 ½ years with this tiny little being sucking every second and ounce of time, strength & patience you ever thought you had, then one day, when he reaches elementary school age you will indeed receive the gift of more time…”)

Not me. I had a little (translation=ginormous) freakout.

Oh…my…gosh… I never really thought about it or prepared for it. What WAS I gonna do? Extra laundry? Eat more Pringles? Bake a cake? Watch an extra episode of Dr. Phil?

 Dr. Phil

WHAT WAS I GONNA DO WITH “ALL THAT EXTRA TIME???”

I’m fairly certain what followed next included 2 boxes of Kleenex and some Visine.

But somehow I managed to stay pretty busy over the last 10 years, some of my days more chaotic than others. Currently I’m in a high octane, all out chaotic stage of life. I’m not complaining because I’ve got an awesome family, great friends and a fun new job. It’s just that I am constantly finding myself just slightly this side of crazy. And I’d love to have back a little of “all that time” I guess I had all those years ago.

But I don’t. And I’m trying to laugh my way through the craziness, talking to Jesus more and more so that I approach the chaos with grace and joy instead of stress and dread. So if you see me in my car talking non-stop, I might be on a work related phone call, but I’m more likely praying for something – an idea, a solution, a little less stress and yes, a little more time…

“Look carefully then how you walk, not as unwise but as wise, making the best use of the time, because the days are evil. (Ain’t that the truth. Just watch the evening news.) Therefore do not be foolish, but understand what the will of the Lord is.” (Ephesians 5:15-17)

I haven’t always made the best use of my time, and I surely haven’t always understood what the Lord’s will has been in my life. But as I’ve gotten older – perhaps because I clearly understand that time has a beginning and an end, I’ve tried to get better at both.

Make the most of all the time God has given you. Live wisely, don’t be foolish, seek and understand God’s will for you life.

Now if you will excuse me, I’m late to pick up my now 6’2” 15 year old son for a 4:30 haircut… so much for “all that extra time…”

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

Leave a Reply

