A Gardener I’m Not

Here is a picture of my planters as they currently sit on my deck.

IMG_3243

Nope, I didn’t stage the photo. This is exactly what I’ve let my pots and plants turn into over time.

Now I know what you may be thinking – that ain’t so bad – I mean, it’s February and it’s been another nasty cold winter, so dead plants and pots that are all askew just go with the wintery season we’re in right now.

Wellll, not so much.

You see every spring I ask my husband if we can plant some “cute” flowers around the deck. And he gives me the same look every time – the “Well, sure we can. We can also just drive down I-85 and fling money out of the car windows, too.”

After 25.3 years of marriage he knows me very well. He knows I start out with a bang, with very good intentions. He knows I have my own gardening gloves and a favorite little trowel, and I will indeed spend exactly one Saturday morning after the last freeze creating very pretty planters and putting them exactly where I want them on the deck.

Aaannnndddd that’s where my involvement starts to fade and eventually just die off all together. Kind of like my plants. Now I do I tell all my plants the truth – “It’s a cruel world I’m bringing you into. If you’re gonna survive, you’re gonna have to do it on your own.”

Isn’t our spiritual life like that at times?

We have some mountaintop experience. Maybe it’s a moment in church or we attend a men’s or women’s conference and hear a fresh word that sends us soaring to the top of Mt. Faith. And then, if we aren’t careful to water and fertilize our spirits, slowly but surely we slide back down that mountain to a state of – well, just look back at the picture of my planters.

Beautiful, thriving plants on my deck will only happen with constant attention, making sure they have water, sunlight, fertilizer and gosh if someone could help me figure out how to keep the squirrels and chipmunks out of them that would be great. But if I treat them like I typically do every year, I won’t have to wait until February to see the sad result.

Again, our spiritual life is like that too.

“But blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord, whose confidence is in him. He will be like a tree planted by the water that sends out its roots by the stream. It does not fear when heat comes, its leaves are always green. It has no worries in a year of drought and never fails to bear fruit.” (Jeremiah 17:7-8)

If we want to grow and flourish and bear spiritual fruit we are going to need to spend the time reading the Bible, studying God’s Word and seeking His will for our lives. If we don’t, well, take another look at my planters. You get the picture.

Blessings for a warm weekend!
Leigh

Leave a Reply

