We’re Out of… Everything

Last Tuesday was the straw that broke this momma’s back. I had to dig through all the travel-sized containers of shampoo, conditioner and lotion from various hotels to find something most people don’t totally run out of:

IMG_3278

Toothpaste.

I mean you can usually squeeze just enough out of any tube to get you by for just one more brushing, but we had been doing that for a couple of days and the last tube looked like it had suffered the fate of being ironed to death. So I scrounged around in the basket and found a tiny tube of toothpaste. Success! Then I got in the shower only to see a travel size bottle of shampoo that my husband had to dig out of the same basket that same morning. Right then and there I thanked Jesus my husband travels with his job and that he occasionally squirrels away some very good smelling travel sized shampoos and tiny tubes of toothpaste.

And then Thursday night my sweet sophomore in college came home for the weekend, opened the pantry and sadly declared, “Wow. It’s really empty in there.”

Tell me something I don’t know, sister.

I haven’t quite mastered the whole working mom thing again. I used to do it full time, and then I did it part time, and then the no working, just mom phase and now the leap back into work mode has me a little – discombobulated.

So what if we don’t have toothpaste or shampoo? Who cares if the pantry isn’t full of Oreos, Ritz crackers and Pringles? And hey – I’ve only totally forgotten to pick up my son once since my job really picked up steam last month.

For an OCD, color-coded calendar, coupon clipping Momma, I’m a little thrown off by all this. I’ve got laundry still sitting in a basket since – well – I can’t remember when I did laundry – and I took a print of my grandmother’s out of a frame to have it framed and the old frame and glass are still sitting where I left them whatever day that was.

WHAT IS HAPPENING TO ME???

I’ll tell you what’s happening – and I’m a little (more than a little) freaked out by this – the lack of toothpaste and shampoo, the full laundry basket and the frame with it’s 50 year old glass sitting in the corner simply isn’t bothering me.

Guess my OCD Club Membership just got revoked.

Going back to work has forced me to prioritize what’s really important and let go of all the rest. It’s a time thing, ‘cause we all know there’s only 24 hours in a day and this momma needs to be in a coma about 8 of those if I’m gonna have any chance of functioning the next day.

One time commitment remains the same, however. I take time every day to worship Jesus, thank Him for the day, commit the day to Him and ask Him to take me where He wants me to go. Some days I have a little more time to spend than others, but I’ve learned (the hard way) that nothing is more important than the time I spend with Jesus. No meeting, no grocery store trip, no school function. Nothing.

“Very early in the morning, while it was still dark, Jesus got up, left the house and went off to a solitary place, where he prayed.” (Mark 1:35)

If Jesus made it a priority, so should we.

And with that, I’m gonna hit up the CVS for about 20 large tubes of toothpaste – coupons in hand, of course – and one tiny tube just in case!

Blessings!
Leigh

 

 

2 thoughts on “We’re Out of… Everything

  1. Amen, Leigh! Prayer is vital to every Christian. I do not have a family of my own, but I have watched my mother struggle as a single mom of four. Sometimes I would see her cry whenever someone came over and looked into our refrigerator because we had nothing. Good thing the lord blessed us by using other people to help us in times of need. Now my mother has been promoted and travels throughout the country to train other people. She has a better income, bonuses, and more fun than she ever had in her life. Our refrigerator and pantries are hardly ever empty. Just like my mom, I know you will do fine in the future as long as you remain still in God’s presence. I can tell you are very strong because most will forget God and handle all their burdens by themselves. I noted you in my prayer notebook, and I will be praying for your family each day now. God bless you sister in Christ!

  2. Leigh –

    Your meditations are awesome and a great gift. Thanks for evangelizing in this way. And don’t be freaked out by the fact that those things you described are not bothering you any more. In fact – celebrate it and acknowledge it as the clear gift from God that it is. OCD sucks and I am thrilled that your membership card is being revoked. I am trying as well. Keep up the great work.

    God Bless!

    David

Leave a Reply

