Locked Out… Again

Last Tuesday I lost an hour of my life that I’ll never get back. My husband was out of town, so I went to his office to pick up a specific package for him that was being delivered. I unlocked the back door, let myself in and put down all the packages that were left by Mr. UPS man. I figured I would go out the front door, so I locked the back door, grabbed the one package I needed and headed for my car. I thought I’d be the good wife and go get his mail before I left, so I set down the one box that I needed, went out the front door, got the mail and headed back in – no, wait – the doorknob isn’t turning – oh, no, no, no tell me I did NOT just lock myself out of my husband’s office!

Oh yes I did. No package. No keys. No phone.

Because where was my phone? In my car.

Which was locked.

Years ago this predicament would have done me in for the rest of the day. But today I chose to laugh out loud at myself (which frightened the lawn guy next door) as I meandered down the street and walked into a local realty company and asked to use their phone to call my dad. Yep, I’m 48 and I had to call my dad to bring the spare key (which is labeled in big black letters on the keychain thanks to the last time my daughter did the same thing. You’d think I would learn.).

And while I was sitting on the porch waiting on my dad, I started thinking about another time I was locked out.

I was at work in Atlanta, and my babysitter was at my house 45 minutes away with my 6 month old baby. I received a frantic call from her saying she had put my daughter in her swing, then went out the back door to give my dog some water. And, yep – the door shut behind her and she was locked out.

OK imagine new momma trying to work with a whole lotta guilt already piled on her back for leaving her baby trying to process the fact that her baby is now IN the house alone (true, she couldn’t actually go anywhere because she was only 6 months old and strapped in a swing) and the babysitter is OUT of the house. I grabbed my purse and keys, screaming something unrecognizable to coworkers as I sprinted to my car in 2” heels. And can I just say, it’s amazing how fast this momma bear got up GA 400 to get to my baby. It wasn’t any 45 minutes, I can promise you that.

And when I got to my house, with no spare key anywhere, looking at my screaming baby (the swing had stopped swinging a long time ago) through the window I did what any momma bear would do.

I found the biggest rock I could find and I smashed in a window.

Window

‘Cause you see nothing – and I mean NOTHING was gonna separate me from my baby. It would take a lot more than some glass to stop me from getting to the one who needed me to hold her, to love her, to soothe her and let her feel the security that momma was there.

Jesus does that for his children, too. He will come to us and rescue us no matter where we are. Nothing can separate us from His love. No sin, not even our past – nothing can ever separate us from the One who loves us the most.

“For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” (Romans 8:38-39)

That is some serious reassurance. So if you’re hesitant, a little unsure of whether Jesus will still love you and be there when you need Him the most, don’t be. He’ll always love you, always come for, even if He has to break a little glass.

Blessings!
Leigh

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Locked Out… Again

  1. Peggy, This is the verse I told you about that was suggested by our pastor, and so comforting to Rob and I.  See you tomorrow! Liz From: Christian Momma Meditations To: bezjak3@sbcglobal.net Sent: Wednesday, March 18, 2015 7:10 AM Subject: [New post] Locked Out… Again #yiv6314467977 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv6314467977 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv6314467977 a.yiv6314467977primaryactionlink:link, #yiv6314467977 a.yiv6314467977primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv6314467977 a.yiv6314467977primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv6314467977 a.yiv6314467977primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv6314467977 WordPress.com | leighthompson1 posted: “Last Tuesday I lost an hour of my life that I’ll never get back. My husband was out of town, so I went to his office to pick up a specific package for him that was being delivered. I unlocked the back door, let myself in and put down all the packages that” | |

Leave a Reply

