I Am An “Offensive” Christian

I wrote a couple of weeks ago about my new reading binge. In my efforts to become more edumacated (yes, that’s a real Southern word – look it up) I was reading about the attempt of a Christian movie company to raise funds for their project entitled “I Am A Christian.”

This movie chronicles the events of a Sudenese woman who refused to recant her Christianity in the face of a death sentence. Sounds like a pretty interesting movie to me – I mean, how did she do it? What did she endure by taking a stance? How did she live through it?

So the production company Christian Lives Matter attempted to raise money via our ‘ol pal Facebook (which, ironically is one way I distribute my CHRISTIAN blog – at least for now) by creating a promotional ad that read:

“Are you a Christian? We challenge you to change your profile picture to this ‘I Am A Christian’ photo for one week! Change your picture now, and challenge your friends to do the same. Stand up and declare Yes, I Am A Christian!!!”

 I am a Christian

You wanna know Facebook’s response? It is just so precious…

“Your ad wasn’t approved because it doesn’t follow Facebook’s Advertising Guidelines for language that is profane, vulgar, threatening or generates high negative feedback. Ads can’t use language that insults, harasses or demeans people, or addresses their age, gender, name, race, physical condition or sexual preference.”

Excuse me?

What, exactly, is so offensive about sharing the Gospel of Jesus with other people? When, exactly, does this supposed harassment take place? Is that before, during or after I share how much God loves a person, forgives all people of all sins and offers everyone who believes in Him a place with our Creator for all eternity? How does posting a picture declaring “I Am A Christian” promote profane, vulgar or threatening feedback? Does that picture insult, harass or demean people? And I simply don’t see how it addresses their age, gender, name, race, physical condition or sexual preference either.

Someone please help me here.

We Christians have felt the heat of persecution rising in this country for quite some time. And many out there in this great land of ours have told us to “hush, y’all” and keep our religion to ourselves. You wanna know something? I’m a little over that, in case you can’t tell.

Yep, it’s pretty dang offensive to try and keep people from burning in hell for all eternity. Really, we Christians should just let people live on in a life of shame, guilt, depression, addiction and filth and just stop trying to save people from satan’s eternal vacation destination known as “Hell’s Lake of Fire.”

What Facebook officials (and sooooo many other people out there) don’t understand is it is EXTREMELY OFFENSIVE to let satan run rough-shod over people and sign them up for a life outside of the love and the grace Jesus Christ offers.

But hey, I’m just a backwards southern momma from the redneck state of Alabama. What do I know?

I know what a difference Jesus has made in my life. I know I’m not perfect, by any stretch of the imagination. But I know who loves me the most, who laid down his life for me, who forgives me, who is always there for me, who will be waiting on me one day when my time here on this earth is over with outstretched arms and a room prepared just for me. (And on a side note, I’m really hoping my room is full of doughnuts, pasta and cake. Being gluten-free will drive you to pray for really strange things…)

“And Jesus came up and spoke to them, saying, ‘All authority has been given to Me in heaven and on earth. Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.’” (Matthew 28:18-20)

And so excuse me, Facebook if I desire for everyone to know the love, and the forgiveness I’ve experienced. I’m just doing what my Creator, my Savior, my Provider and my Healer has asked me to do. Shame on me for wanting to see life change that only Jesus can provide. And dadgum it I better stop trying to win souls over for Jesus so that they can spend eternity in heaven. Yep, I better stop my offensive living right here and now.

But I won’t. Will you?

Blessings!
Leigh

Leave a Reply

