Smooth as a baby’s… well, you know.

Back in January my in-laws treated all their adult children and spouses to a weekend getaway. Part of the weekend was a spa day for the ladies, and I mean to tell you it was one of the best most relaxing experiences I’ve had in awhile.

I picked a facial as my spa treatment that day. Now there’s nothing like a good massage, I agree. But as I’ve gotten older my skin has taken a serious turn into crazy-land, complete with daily flaking and adult acne from time to time. (I mean, seriously. Isn’t it enough that we have to deal with that all through puberty? Why in the world do we have to deal with it again later in life? I shouldn’t have to share Clean & Clear’s Acne Spot Treatment with my 15 year old son.)

clean

Anyway, my esthetician – let’s just call her my spa chick because that word is just too hard to say – was amazing. In just one hour my spa chick took my dried out, scaly, one pimpled skin and made it as soft a newborn baby’s rear end. I was completely amazed at the transformation, and I’m not easily impressed where my face is concerned. She gave me step by step instructions and then recommended a few additions to my skin care regiment (which previously consisted of an Oil of Olay make-up wipe and some moisturizer) that would keep my skin looking and feeling better.

She didn’t make me sign a commitment letter, she didn’t say I had to use only the products they sell, she didn’t force me to practice the daily routine in front of her. My spa chick just provided me with amazing care, and made gentle recommendations knowing I would keep that new glow if I simply listened to her advice and followed her instructions.

You know, Jesus treats us much the same way. He gives us unconditional love and provides instructions for every single life issue that can happen to us. He doesn’t force His way on us, but demonstrates how we should live through His example. Jesus is always there with perfect wisdom and guidance, providing peace and understanding we just can’t get any other way.

The only way to experience that peace and understanding is to get to know Jesus and follow the example he laid out for all of us so many, many years ago.

“Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says. Anyone who listens to the word but does not do what it says is like someone who looks at his face in a mirror and, after looking at himself, goes away and immediately forgets what he looks like. But whoever looks intently into the perfect law that gives freedom, and continues in it—not forgetting what they have heard, but doing it—they will be blessed in what they do.” (James 1:22-25)

I’ve been doing everything my spa chick told me to do, and the result has been smoother, pimple-free skin.  Experience God’s love – listen to His advice – then put it into practice for the best possible results every day!

Blessings!
Leigh

 

Leave a Reply

