A Holiday in the Hospital

You can just feel so helpless sometimes.

My daughter’s best friend lies in a hospital bed, fighting off a serious infection caused by her colitis. She hasn’t eaten in over a week, has had a serious cocktail of antibiotics, steroids and pain meds and can hardly get up to walk. The pain has decreased but is constant. She’s missed a week of school and work. And she just looks a little pitiful lying there day after day.

We go see her every day, try to tell her funny stories to cheer her up. And I will say to be that sick she has had moments of her normal sassy self, so that’s encouraging.

Anytime someone you care about is suffering you want to help. Sometimes you have the power or ability to do something, but not always. I’m no doctor or nurse. Heck when her momma described all the staff had done to her the room started to spin just a little and I thought I might need some smelling salts to snap me out of that black out spiral that happens when I’m around medical traumas. So no, I’m of no help when it comes to anything medical.

But I am not helpless. Satan would want us to think we can’t do anything to help others when their situation is out of our skillset, but that’s a lie. If nothing else I’m a fierce prayer warrior. When I tell people I’m going to pray for them, I keep on it until I hear that prayer has been answered. I can’t say I’ve always done that for people, but it’s part of my daily routine now.

And why? Why do I spend so much time praying for others?

Because prayer works.

God knows what’s on your heart. He knows your worries, your anxieties, your joys and your sorrows – He wants to hear you say it.

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving present your requests to God.” (Philippians 4:6)

 prayer-on-my-knees4

And when you pray, pray with confidence. Go boldly to the throne, believing that what you seek will happen.

“Let us then approach the throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.” (Hebrews 4:16)

And no matter the outcome, let us remember the words Jesus spoke the night He was betrayed:

“Father, if you are willing, take this cup from me; yet not my will, but yours be done.” (Luke 22:42)

This earth dishes out a whole lotta pain. But I’ve seen prayer after prayer answered and miracles happen. And on the flip side, when prayers aren’t answered the way we want I’ve witnessed an indescribable peace in the spirits of those who put their trust in Jesus.

“And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 4:7)

So I’m going to the throne of grace with confidence, boldly believing God will heal our friend totally and completely. I’m asking that she will wake up one day without any symptoms or signs of colitis so that we can testify to the miracles God still delivers. But even if that doesn’t happen, I will trust His will and His plan for her is far greater than anything I could come up with.

Pray – be bold – wait expectantly – trust in Jesus.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

