SBXV

What did you do for your spring break? And for all you above the Mason-Dixon line who actually take spring break in the spring – not in the middle of winter like we do down south – what are your upcoming spring break plans?

I did something I’ve never done before.

I took a road trip.

With my dad.

To Mississippi.

Mississippi

My daughter is finishing up her sophomore year at Ole Miss, and my dad has wanted to go visit her ever since she hit campus. So yep, we took a few days at the end of spring break week (my high school son’s week – not hers, of course) and made the 5 hour drive to Oxford, MS.

Now there’s something you need to understand about my dad. His 50-year career put him on the roads of Alabama pretty much every week. He would drive all over the interstates, county roads, back roads… he’s been on just about every inch of pavement in the state. I can leave my house, start driving, call him at some odd time (as in, I’ve been driving for one hour and 42 minutes) and he’ll reply with something like, “Well you should be coming up on mile marker 168.” And sure enough, the next mile marker will indeed be 168 (which is both comforting and frustrating at the same time). He’s gotten me around more interstate wrecks via backroads than any helicopter-flying traffic reporter ever thought about, and provided endless knowledge about which fast food restaurants I’ll find at any given exit. So my dad knows Alabama roads. Period.

But this trip to Mississippi did a number on him. Once we left Sweet Home Alabama, he was a bit (ok, more than a bit) frustrated. He had already looked at maps – printed maps, Google maps, GPS maps – to get a feel for which roads we were taking. He had the route all planned out in his head based on the way he thought we should go.

But I don’t go the way the maps tell you. I go the way I know.

Which drove him crazy.

And even worse, I couldn’t tell him the highway numbers, exit names or where the next rest stop would be. He just had to trust me to get him where we were going.

That went over well.

Don’t we all want that? Don’t we all want to know where we are going and which road to take? But life just doesn’t work that way. Many, many times we just have to keep driving, trusting Jesus to get us where we need to go. If we take the route we think is best, we may end up in a place we never meant to go. If we are patient and listen to the directions our heavenly Father gives us, our destination is secure.

It’s a trust issue. Do we indeed trust Jesus to give us directions as we drive, all the while a little anxious because we can’t see our destination? Or do we create our own route because we just don’t trust His way?

I know how taking my own route usually ends up, and it ain’t good. It’s called lost, and that’s a lonely, scary feeling. I don’t want to be lost in life, and I know when I seek Jesus’ directions and guidance I’m going to stay on the path He has created for me.

“I guide you in the way of wisdom and lead you along straight paths. When you walk, your steps will not be hampered; when you run, you will not stumble. Hold on to instruction, do not let it go; guard it well, for it is your life.” (Proverbs 4:11-13)

Thanks to my first-hand knowledge on how to get through Mississippi, my daddy made it to Oxford.

Will you trust Jesus to get you where you’re going?

Blessings!
Leigh

Leave a Reply

