Wait…What time is it?

BEEP…BEEP…BEEP…BEEP…

What IS that noise… wait that’s my alarm… what time is it… FIVE THIRTY TWO??? Why is my alarm going off… what day is it… where am I…

time

Oh, yeah. It’s the first day of my son working at the golf course. My son is still 15 years old, so that means momma has to drive him to work until he gets his driver’s license (Come on, June 5th. You’re killin’ me here.)

I’ve said on numerous occasions I am NOT a morning person. I’m not a super late sleeper – I’ll usually wake up around 7:00 on my own – but I’m not like some of my friends who set their alarms for some ridiculously early time so that they can get up and go run a couple of miles or work out before going to work. (Yes, I’m secretly jealous of these people. How do they do that and function before 2 cups of coffee?)

But when you tell your almost 16 year old son he needs to work for the summer, and after he quits rolling his eyes he gets that job and then announces he has to be at work by 6:00 a.m. you suck it up and get your tired ‘ol momma rear end out of bed and behind the wheel to drive him to that job you told him he had to get.

I’ll give him props – by the time I figured out what was going on in my head he was ready to leave. He got up on his own (at 5:20 – UGH), nuked himself a bacon, egg & cheese biscuit and put his stuff in the car. I was lucky to remember to brush my teeth before we left.

Driving to the golf course, I figured it was so early that once I got back home home I could get back in the bed, turn off the lights and get a little more sleep.

As if.

Once you’re 48 and you get up, drive, drop off and drive home, you’re awake. Trying to get more sleep would just be a waste of daylight.

So I got my Bible and my prayer journal, and I enjoyed what I would call an extra long time with Jesus that morning because I was up earlier than a rooster announcing the arrival of the sun. And I started asking myself, “Why don’t I do this every day?” Good grief. If I got up every day at 5:30 there’s no telling what I might learn from Jesus!

Jesus knew the importance of spending the early, quiet mornings with God. He needed that time alone with His heavenly Father to pray about – well, everything. I think I have a demanding day ahead of me? My day ain’t nothin’ compared to what Jesus would face every day. And He knew the only way to make it through the day doing His Father’s will was to spend the beginning of each day in quiet, in solitude, in prayer.

“Very early in the morning, while it was still dark, Jesus got up, left the house and went off to a solitary place, where he prayed.” (Mark 1:35)

I’m hoping to establish a new pattern for MOST days to set my alarm for an earlier time than “Oh my gosh I have to get up now or I’m gonna be late.” Spending early morning time in worship and reading, praising and learning from my heavenly Father is absolutely, hands down the BEST way to start my day.

Until June 5th honestly I won’t have a choice. But once my son gets his driver’s license the choice to get up will be mine.

And it’s your choice, too.

(Update: I wrote this on day 1. Pretty chipper, got a lot accomplished that day. Day 2 I was still pretty chipper, went on out of town appointments. Day 3 killed me. Got back in the bed at 6:00 a.m. and didn’t come to life until 7:45. But hey, 2 outta 3 ain’t bad!)

Blessings!
Leigh

Leave a Reply

