I’m not THAT Dumb

A couple of days ago I got a word from the Lord. How do I know? Because I heard it not once, not twice but 3 times in about a 30 minute span. And then I heard it again a few days later. I’m no brain surgeon, but I didn’t fall off the turnip truck yesterday either. So when I heard the same word repeated over and over in my quiet time I was fairly certain God was trying to tell me something.

It started with a devotional out of Jesus Calling. In part it said, “Do not close off any part of yourself from Me. I know you inside and out… Secret sins that you “hide” from Me can split off and develop lives of their own…” (Oh ain’t THAT the truth!)

The Scripture that went along with that devotional was from Psalm 139. In part it reads, “O Lord, you have searched me and you know me…Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts…”

And if that wasn’t enough, in the middle of all those words the song Here for You started playing on Pandora randomly (or notsomuch). The line that caught my attention that morning was, “To you our hearts are open, nothing here is hidden…”

And before I could think that’s it, that this word was just a one-day thing from the Holy Spirit, a few days later Pastor Layne Schranz led our church’s morning prayer time by referring to 2 Kings 6:8-17. Specifically verse 17 says, “And Elisha prayed, ‘O Lord, open his eyes so he may see.’” Coincidence? I think not.

So like I said, I ain’t the brightest bulb in the pack, but I can usually pick up on something this obvious. The word I was hearing repeated in my spirit was the word “hidden.” So I started to pray for God to reveal to me what was hidden.

And I got some immediate answers on what I was knowingly and unknowingly hiding from God. But I don’t think that’s all there is – I don’t think this is a one day event. I think God has more to show me. And if I am truly seeking Him each and every day, I would want that.  As King David wrote in Psalm 139: “SEARCH me, O God, and KNOW my heart; TEST me and KNOW my anxious thoughts. SEE if there is any offensive way in me, and LEAD me in the way everlasting.”

What a heartfelt and somewhat scary prayer – asking God to come into your heart and do a thorough search and destroy mission on issues that you have tried so hard to hide. And there’s just no telling what He might bring to the surface – are you ready and willing to deal with whatever is revealed? This prayer is not one that should be prayed willy-nilly because God never disappoints. He will bring issues to the surface that you either purposefully hid or didn’t even realize were hiding in your spirit.

But that’s the beauty of having a personal relationship with Jesus! If we are truly running after Him every day we want Him to reveal those areas where we need some work. We long for His help and instruction. We seek His rewards – mercy, forgiveness, peace.

So if you pray Psalm 139, saddle up ‘cause what will be revealed may not be pretty, but through Jesus’ blood and the cross there is no condemnation, only forgiveness when we truly repent.

Reveal to us what is hidden, O Lord so that we may walk in relationship with You today, tomorrow and all the days to come!

Blessings!
Leigh

Leave a Reply

