The Best Mom Ever

So this last week has been pretty emotional for southern mommas of all ages. Why? Because school is back in session, and I don’t care if you have kindergartner, a 7th grader, a senior in high school or a freshman in college – mommas get emotional this time of year. (“Where does the time go?” “Can they stop growing?” “How did they get so big???”)

freshman

I’ve been on FB quite a bit over the last week because I love to see all the first day of school pictures (of the kids that will still allow momma to snap that photo) and all the ways a freshman dorm room can come to life (girls’ rooms only – see my previous post if you have a boy). But something else has littered FB posts like toilet paper at Toomer’s Corner after a big Auburn win…

(Sorry. It’s almost college football season. I couldn’t resist.)

It’s blog posts written from daughters to their moms. Blog posts where a daughter apologizes to her mom for numerous offenses. Posts from daughters who AHA! realize that mom is indeed, always right. The Top 10 things a daughter wants to tell her mom now that she is in college, out of college, newly married… It seems as though daughters have a lot of pent-up emotions they need to release into the world of the internet. (Girls with a lot of emotions seeking an outlet for those emotions. Shocking, I know.)

Which made me think: What makes the best mom ever? Have I been the best mom ever? Who hands out the BMEAs? (That’s the Best Mom Ever Awards, BTW)

Self-reflection is, well, interesting.

Have I been the best mom ever? Uuuhhhhhh, HECK NO! I have no doubt there are many mommas out in the world who have done a way better job of bringing up children than I have. Mommas who defended only when necessary, disciplined only when appropriate and basked in the glow of their God-fearing children as they devoted their lives to be missionaries somewhere in the jungles of South America…

But God didn’t give me those children. And he didn’t give me that momma’s heart, brain or experiences. He gave me a unique path with unique children and unique circumstances. Did I get it right every time? Nope. Do I still mess up? Yep. Do my children think I’m the best mom ever? I have no idea.

But what I do know is this: from the moment they were born I promised to love them and raise them the very best way I knew how, keeping in mind that parenting is the ultimate on-the-job training experience ever.

Do I want my kids to think I’m the best mom ever? Not really, because I know I could have handled MANY situations better. What do I want them to think about me? That I love Jesus and I love them and “I have no greater joy than to hear my children walk in truth.” (3 John 1:4)

Because in the end, it doesn’t matter if my daughter writes an apology or a thank you blog about me (it would have to be my daughter – my son doesn’t even have a FaceBook account). It doesn’t matter if some strangely-formed committee handed me a BMEA at their annual awards dinner. All that matters to me is that in Jesus’ eyes I did my very best to raise my children in a Christ-centered home so that one day they, too will love Him and seek Him and serve Him with all their hearts.

Best Mom Ever? Nah.

I’m waiting on an award of a different kind – a “well done, my good and faithful servant” when I see Jesus one day.

Blessings!
Leigh

Leave a Reply

