Hello, Old Friend

It’s been awhile. It’s been since August 13th, to be exact. Two months and some change since I’ve written anything. So what in the world has been going on?

Life.

Moving a child into the sorority house, getting another one settled in high school. Football games and golf tournaments. Oh and work – I do actually have a job to do. Grocery store runs, hosting a small group, etc.

But those are just excuses for not doing what God clearly called me to do almost two years ago.

It’s not that I think I’m the best writer in the world – I don’t. But I did get a clear directive from my Creator to write about life and point people to Jesus. And I was on a roll for awhile, until I let life creep in and steal the gift God called me to share.

You have a gift, too. God planted a special gift inside of you – do you know what it is? Do you know how to use it? If not I suggest you get in a church or Bible study that can help you figure it out.

So here are three steps we all need to keep in mind:
Step 1 – Figure out the gift God has placed inside you.
Step 2 – Use it for His glory and to point others to Jesus.
Step 3 – Don’t let life get in the way.

“God has give gifts to each of you from His great variety of spiritual gifts. Manage them well so that God’s generosity can flow through you.” (1 Peter 4:10 NLT)

keyboard

It took a Sunday in church listening to a message on spiritual gifts for me to say, “Oh yeah, that blog thing – I should probably get back on that…”

I can’t say I’ll be able to write as frequently as I used to, but I am going to choose to make time to do what God has called me to do. And I trust He will give me the time and the space and the means to get everything else done.

Don’t let your gift go to waste. Discover it. Use it. Bless others with it.

Blessings!
Leigh

Leave a Reply

