A Turtle in Peanut Butter

My summer was really, really busy because of my job. So after a summer of non-existent exercise in my life I decided a first of September I would try and get back into some sort of healthy routine. And when I say a healthy routine, that means I would try to keep it to 1 brownie after lunch instead of 2, 1 scoop of ice cream at night instead of 3, and I walk my dog a couple of miles most mornings. (I never said I was actually trying to achieve some health goal – I’m more or less trying to counterbalance the amount of sugar I take in with some type of exercise.)

Anyway, many days in September it was extremely humid where I live – I’ll go with approximately 1,500% humidity – and on particular humid day I left my dog in our comfy climate controlled home while I went to sweat it out on a walk. I was alone, just me and my iPod, determined to walk off the ice cream eaten the previous night.

Now it is well documented in my blog posts that I can’t sleep anymore. I’ve tried to figure out why – stress, no stress, getting older, not quite old enough, lumpy bed, firm bed – and I’m no closer to the reason so I quit trying to figure it out and I do what I have to do to sleep. Confession: I take 1 Simply Sleep pill at night so that I can sleep straight through, or go back to sleep it I get up in the middle of the night. So yes, I drug myself essentially with Benadryl every night. Please, please no one comment and tell me how bad that is for me. I’m certain my family would write back and tell you my mood & attitude is much worse when I don’t sleep and any possible long term side effects are risks we are all willing to take.

So I take 1 Simply Sleep pill every night, and I have to take 1 thyroid pill in the morning. Easy, peasy. Unless you accidentally take your Simply Sleep pill in the morning instead of your thyroid pill…

I set out on my walk thinking, “I don’t feel any effects yet, so it will probably be awhile before it kicks in. I’ll walk, and then if I have to take a nap this afternoon that’s NBD.”

Oh but it was a BD (that’s a Big Deal in your child’s text language).

About halfway through my normal route, at the point where I’m the farthest away from my home (of course) I start to feel oh, not so good. I’m already hot and sticky from the 1,500% humidity, and now my stomach is churning and my mind is slowly fading away to… sleep. As I’m walking I notice my steps getting slower and slower, my will and determination to get home slowly but surely fading away like the SEC’s chances of winning a national championship in football last year.

At one point I seriously considered laying down in the shade, near some bushes so I wouldn’t be in anyone’s way (and hopefully no one would see me) like an old dog that is going off to die. I just didn’t think I could pick up my feet and step any further without taking some time to lay down and rest.

I was, at that moment, moving like a turtle in peanut butter.

turtle

We all have times we feel like turtles in peanut butter. We all face trials and difficulties where we feel stuck, like we just can’t take another step further.

It’s at that point where the will and the mind literally have to take over the body. Maybe you are a widow and you feel no reason to get out of bed today because your wife is no longer with you. Or you might have a son who has chosen a life of drugs & alcohol and you just can’t face another day of despair over his situation.

I’ve been in desperate situations – everyone has. Where do we turn? To whom do we listen? How do we find the will to face another day?

It’s only through the power of Jesus that we rise to face each day when we are in hopeless situations. God says, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.” (Joshua 1:1) We may feel lost and unnoticed, but that simply isn’t true. God never leaves our side and He gives us the power to carry on, day after day: “I can do everything through Him who gives me strength.” (Philippians 4:13) And we need to take it one day at a time, facing today’s challenges only and not borrowing worries and anxiety from tomorrow. “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” (Matthew 6:34)

And lastly – and most importantly – we need to keep in mind that Jesus has already been through everything we could experience, and He is victorious over every single situation, every emotion, every experience. “In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” (John 16:33)

I literally prayed my way home that day, slowly but surely putting one foot in front of the other until I was able to lay down in the safety of my home. Pray your way through your desperate situation so that you can feel the safety of being home at the feet of Jesus.

Blessings!
Leigh

One thought on “A Turtle in Peanut Butter

  1. Leigh, Love your encouraging blog. I forwarded it to my niece, who has a lot on her plate, to encourage her. Good to see you back! Marie

    Sent from Marie’s iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

