It’s 4:11 a.m. – again.

My inability to sleep through the night is well documented in my blog. So is my addiction to Simply Sleep – just one little shot of Benadryl to help me sleep through the night. And it may say “non-habit forming” on the bottle but I’m here to tell you that’s a lie, because every night I take it I sleep like a teenager (forget trying to sleep like a baby – teenagers are much better sleepers) and every night I don’t – well, I don’t sleep well. And yes, I’m writing this at 4:11 a.m., so point proven.

simply sleep

Well, for the last couple of weeks I have removed Simply Sleep from my routine. Why? Why in the world would I give up my awesome, restful, peaceful, full nights of sleep? Because I read an article that quoted research showing long term use of a sleep aid like that one can lead to early onset of dementia.

Wonder if 8 years is considered long-term…

So in my effort to overcome my addiction to Simply Sleep, I have given up sleeping until my alarm goes off, and instead I get out of bed when I realize I’m not gonna get any more sleep, and that seems to be consistently around 4:11 a.m.

It’s amazing what I can get done in the quiet of the morning. Quite time? Check. Balance the bank statement? Done. Fill out my entire 2016 planner with birthdays and anniversary? Complete.

Two hours is a lot of time before the rest of my household wakes up. I have a lot of time to think, a lot of time to pray. A lot of time to seek God’s will and wisdom.

So…much…time… (yawn)…

I don’t suggest setting your alarm clock for 4:11 a.m. to make sure you get your time in with God every day, but wow these early mornings sure have been enlightening. I do urge you to carve out time to spend with Him every day however, especially in the morning (if possible) before your day escalates into the hurried, crazy day we experience all too often.

Check out what Jesus did before He made one of the most important decisions in His ministry: “One of those days Jesus went out to a mountainside to pray, and spent the night praying to God. When morning came, he called his disciples to him and chose twelve of them, whom he also designated apostles…” (Luke 6:12-13)

This passage from Luke is just one example of Jesus spending time in prayer, seeking God’s will and God’s wisdom. Before Jesus chose the 12 of the most important men in Biblical history he spent all night praying, and that ensured he would make the decision that would be most pleasing to his Father. God never disappointed Jesus after those many nights and mornings spent in prayer, and He’ll never disappoint you either when you take time to talk to Him, pour out your heart to Him and then listen for His responses.

Make time to spend with your Creator, the One who loves you like no other. He wrote the book on your life – don’t you want to know what’s in it? Don’t you want to make the best decisions every single day? How else will you find out if you don’t talk to Him on a consistent basis?

If I got to pick my time, it wouldn’t be 4:11 a.m., but I’m thankful for it anyway.

Find your time.

Blessings!
Leigh

One thought on “It’s 4:11 a.m. – again.

  1. I am glad to hear that you have given up the sleep aid. Early mornings are a great time to spend time in the presence of God…Sometimes it is God shoving us out of bed to spend time with him. I know He gives his beloved sleep because that is what His word promises. So whenever I can’t sleep, I start to pray or praise and that works every time.

Leave a Reply

