Breaking Up Is Hard To Do

I started a relationship 26 years ago. I was a new bride, and I formed a relationship that I thought would last forever. I spent hours and hours cultivating a relationship that was fun, where I felt accepted and could just be myself.

But today I find myself having to make a hard decision. The other party in this relationship has changed – or maybe true colors are finally being displayed. The place where I once felt acceptance and safety now spews forth words I cannot listen to and makes decision that I cannot stand by and support.

I thought we would be together forever.

But today, it is with a heavy heart that I break up with you, Target.

Broken heart

We have many great memories together. All the super size Downy Unstoppables I bought just to get that $5 gift card in return. The work out clothes that are almost as good as Nike but a whole lot cheaper. Going to you for dog food, salsa, batteries and an 8 pack of Hanes boxer shorts – all in one shopping trip. Reliving all our memories together can truly bring a tear to a glass eye.

But there comes a time in some relationships where one party realizes the intrinsic values of the other are not in sync anymore. I thought we understood each other – I thought you wanted me to come to your store, shop and occasionally use the restroom with peace of mind.

Apparently I was wrong.

In your company’s recent statement you said, “Everyone deserves to feel like they belong.”

Well, guess what? I don’t feel that way anymore. I am a Bible-believing Christian, and as these social issues carpet bomb the country I go back to a verse that clears it all up for me. “For God is not a God of disorder, but of peace.” (1 Corinthians 14:33) Letting a male who claims he feels like a female today into my restroom creates disorder and chaos. Allowing women go into a men’s restroom with little boys in there does the same.

It is you, Target who is now discriminating against women and children who want to feel secure when they are in your store – whether they are Christians or not. So now I don’t feel like I belong in your store anymore – does that matter to you?

God does not create or condone chaos. But I know who does. “The thief comes to steal, kill and destroy.” (John 10:10) And right now we are letting satan have a field day in our nation. I know I’m only one person, but I will make my stand.

So good-bye, Target. Thanks for all the memories. But from now on, I will choose to spend my time and my money fostering relationships that don’t condone the ammo of the evil one.

Now if Hobby Lobby would just start carrying dog food…

Blessings!
Leigh

 

Leave a Reply

