Weekend Warrior Woopsie

Back in January I came up with a list of to-do’s that needed to get-done around the house. Now these aren’t Honey-Do’s (that’s a totally separate list) but things I saw as needing some attention. (Translation: Things my husband doesn’t notice, doesn’t care about, and wonders why I go to the trouble.)

FullSizeRender

My to-do list inside my color-coded, time-divided 2016 planner

And so Saturday, I had both the time and the energy (a rare combination these days) to knock  a chunk off of the list. I started by taking down the window treatments I made back in March for my den (they were pretty but too big and made my den look too dark, so there’s a waste of 2 days back in March…). I put that power drill in reverse, took those 8 screws right out of the wall, then I puttied and sanded down the holes left behind. All I need to do was paint over the old holes, which I did because I had already checked to see I had some leftover Old Prairie paint (sounds like a hideous color, but it’s actually light and bright) which I knew was the color we had painted the den.

One problem: the den was painted about 8 years ago. The paint I used was from a more recent job, therefore – you guessed it – the paints are a hair off in color so now I have 8 blobs above my windows of paint that should match but doesn’t.

Dang it.

Not to be discouraged, I left that little project thinking I’ll just cover it up with some new window treatments for the den – some day – and moved right along to repainting my powder room (it’s the only room in the house that still has nickel finished features in my oil bronzed world and a light blue paint job instead of Old Prairie). I started by attempting to remove the towel bar in nickel finish, which I could have sworn would just “pop” right off the wall if I just gave it a little shove from the bottom.

It popped off all right – along with a large hunk of sheetrock. A very large hunk of sheetrock.

Dang it – again.

So much for my 2 “easy” weekend warrior projects.

Often times we start out with great ideas and grand schemes, only to be waylaid by – life. Mismatched plans, ripped up relationships can cause us to do one of 2 things. We can either get mad, get frustrated, get annoyed with the way things are going in our lives or we can suck it up, go on with plan B, learn from the fall out and yes – even laugh a little at ourselves.

“More than that, we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.” (Romans 5:3-5)

 Now I could have given up on my weekend warrior projects – but I didn’t. And no matter what you are going through it’s important for you not to give up either. Sure, there’s much bigger challenges that knock us down besides paint that that doesn’t match or an unforeseen hole in the wall, but what we learn in the midst of hardship is often times invaluable.

Saturday I learned how to properly take down a towel bar. But in the grand scheme of life when I’ve faced much bigger challenges and problems I’ve learned that Jesus is my best friend, that I am never alone and that “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” (Philippians 4:13) I’ve learned that through prayer I can get up when I’ve been knocked down and live to fight another day.

So don’t give up, no matter how many mess-ups and unforeseen challenges come your way. You will learn some lessons that you couldn’t learn any other way, and the hope you receive will keep you moving forward to the next day, the next challenge.

Keep at it. Don’t give up or give in.

Now where’s that power drill???

Blessings!
Leigh

